PDA

View Full Version : slip on exhaust (few questions)

jake"08"400
12-29-2010, 01:16 PM
:huh So i am new to this messing with jetting stuff but anyways i got a 2008 400 ex i already got a 42 pilot f/a screw 2.25 out and needle 3rd notch 152 main jet. and i know its prolly rich even though when i pulled my plug its brown not wet and are white from being to lean. and also im bout 800 to 1,000 feet above sea level im in alabama. anyways my question is do i need to go up on my main with just a slip on are should it be fine the way it is at 152. also does anyone else have a hmf performance pipe and how do you like it and how loud is it? thanks for any help...:) o yea and i got a k and n filter and about 6 uni pre filter holes in my airbox. sometimes no lid...and how hard is the install on a new pipe.

slightlybent47
12-29-2010, 02:37 PM
Boy the aftermarket guys love it when new guys start looking for power. Removing the air box lid and adding an aftermarket exhaust only gives you a gain of 2-3 hp for a significant amount of cash. Say $250.00 to $700.00 for a full exhaust. The best you can hope for is a small gain in hp and a little better throttle response. If you plan on doing motor work a pipe and slip on can help you, but on a stock motor the gains are small. A sparks key will do more for hp at a much lower cost then a pipe. With the air lid off and a slip on added you only need to bump the main jet up one jet size to be where you need to be. Messing with the needle and a/f screw will only do more harm then good, with what you have done so far. If you are doing motor mods with the added pipe then go ahead but if not save your money and use the stock pipe. You’ll be able to ride in more places with a stock pipe. Just my opinion.

jake"08"400
12-29-2010, 02:52 PM
already got the pipe man. and sure it might not give much power but why not get it if you have the money.? and it looks better than that old flat black 20 pound chunk of metal on hte back of it now