PDA

View Full Version : Can't shift in 5th gear

vjace
12-28-2010, 06:04 PM
I'm new to the quading sene. Just picked up a 05 400 ex drove it in my back yard and stuff since July. We had a blizard the other day and went riding in the streets and realized fifth gear is not engaging. I did a full oil change on it when I got it and one not too long ago oem parts oil and filter. I never really had to use 4th or 5th gear in my back yard nor did i test every gear apon purchase. Now I'm sadly disappointed that i may have gotten ripped off and that I could not keep up with my buddies quad At higher speeds. Any input would be great.

Ps I did do a search prior to post.

rubbersdown
12-28-2010, 09:33 PM
probably a bent shift fork but no way to find out without pulling the motor and splitting the cases.

vjace
12-28-2010, 09:52 PM
pisssssssss
I have to pull the whole motor out or can i take it apart on the frame? do you know off hand how much a fork will cost? how do you bend a fork? if i delayed replacing the fork you think i would damage anything else more? My last question is their a online pdf service manual? i know i can buy one for 40 but i rather put that money towards repairs.

all this info will be greatly appreciated thank you.

Pipeless416
12-28-2010, 10:11 PM
Originally posted by vjace
pisssssssss
I have to pull the whole motor out or can i take it apart on the frame? do you know off hand how much a fork will cost? how do you bend a fork? if i delayed replacing the fork you think i would damage anything else more? My last question is their a online pdf service manual? i know i can buy one for 40 but i rather put that money towards repairs.

all this info will be greatly appreciated thank you.