PDA

View Full Version : Group Project - New 2 Stroke Engine or Other???

ARC250R
12-17-2010, 10:35 PM
Hey All,

So I have read and seen lots of discussion on people’s interest in bringing parts back to production, along with investment in production of new aftermarket and many more ideas along these lines.

Along with this one of the main threads has talk of engine cases getting built again (lots of interest it seems) and talk of people saying they would love a large displacement balanced 2 stroke engines. (I was wondering is this a general consensus?)

Anyways to my point all this stuff seems like a great idea but its so difficult to get it started as one person or to back it up with funds, so my Idea is why don’t we start a group project on it. Kind of like open source programs or similar. Do you think its possible we could all work on literally making our own engine design? (Just one possible idea) I am an aerospace engineer and would love to use my skills to “bring the 2 stroke back to life to speak”. Some people on here know porting like the back of their hand, some have probably seen every performance 2 stoke engine on earth. The list goes on. And the thought is we work on this as a team and everyone basically gets a blue print when were done of how to make the bad boy.

To make it realistic we can combine components readily available, transmission, crank, cylinder ect. And make a few parts custom, most likely cases and some other bits to get it all together, bring it to the modern age with fuel injection (a simple task with things like “megasquirt” ecu these days – its running my Silverado). If nothing else we could design cases for a balanced modern 250

I know there will be much to do and many challenges but I wanted to put the idea out there.... Lots of us on here have skills we build atvs we have the nack, we could take it to the next level, think of the pride when its done. I think we have the capability to make it happen....