PDA

View Full Version : top end rebuild

logant14
12-15-2010, 05:58 PM
how hard is it to rebuild the top end? i have no experience nor does my dad. our friend was going to help me but he is on vacation and i would like to start. i have a service manual. thanks

PaRedneckRiders
12-15-2010, 06:03 PM
Not hard at all as long as you have some common sense.
Its good you have a manual but if it helps, tape up all the bolts and label them.
Also take alot of pictures either on like your phone if it takes decent pics or on a camera, so if you get stuck somewhere you can refer the the pictures you took as you were tearing it down.

Make sure to remove the cam chain tensioner before you try and take the cam out other wise it will be a real pain.

But ya follow the book and pictures and you shouldn't have any problems.

logant14
12-15-2010, 06:16 PM
ok thanks i found a new wiseco piston 10-1 even though its only 85.5mm do you think it will run any better?

CJM
12-15-2010, 06:17 PM
Super easy really. Make sure you use the right tools, have a torque wrench (1/4 and 3/8 drive would be best), metric tools, large metric allen keys get the manual and gaskets and go to town.

You can ask us anytime you want and you should get some help.

PaRedneckRiders
12-15-2010, 06:28 PM
Would just buy an 87mm wiseco and take the piston and cylinder to the local dealer maybe even machine shop and have them bore it for that piston.

87mm (416) 11:1 wiseco would run a good bit better than a 85.5mm 10:1 wiseco.

With 11:1 you should be fine on premium pump gas (92,93 octane) as long as your not running an advanced timing key.

PaRedneckRiders
12-15-2010, 06:29 PM
Also what your budget to do this cause if you have a decent amount i would go with the 11:1 416, GTT HD headstuds and either a stage 1 or 2 Hot cam

CJM
12-15-2010, 06:30 PM
Always go for higher compression, you will get more power and its worth it in the end.