PDA

View Full Version : Helmet Recommendations

wolfe 21
12-06-2010, 05:18 PM
A little off topic, but I didn't see a gear section. If I missed it please move to correct are.

I've been riding for about two years now and I think it's time for some new gear. Anybody have any recommendations for a helmet and some OTG goggles that are actually comfortable and won't fog up on me. Current setup is an AFX helmet with Scott voltage OTG's. Saw a nice fox on Clearance, any problems with them (small sizing especially as I'm at XL as it is).

Thanks,
James.

CJM
12-06-2010, 05:52 PM
Im a big fan of scott goggles, not sure if they still make them but I use the 89 series and seriously they wont fog even after ive washed the lens and stuff.

As for helmets HJC is quality and cheap, everyone pretty much wears one in my group. I was gonna get one but I picked up a really nice bell for cheap.

Thumpin440ex
12-06-2010, 06:56 PM
I picked up a brand new bell in flat black for under 200 bucks. It is a super nice helmet for the money, is also snell rated.. And for goggles I found a nice set of used oakleys for next to nothing...

John

finsteratv
12-06-2010, 08:41 PM
i bought some spy goggles but havnt ridden them yet
anyone have experience with em?

bkelley
12-06-2010, 10:11 PM
I've had my Spys for about 5 years now. Changed out the lens for a dark one about a year ago. Other than that, I've had zero complaints.

ish416
12-06-2010, 10:21 PM
Helmets and boots are the two pieces of gear that I will not skimp on.

Just like an aftermarket suspension makes you notice how bad "good" stock suspension is, a great helmet will make you realize how uncomfortable, heavy, poorly vented and cheap that a cheaper helmet is.