PDA

View Full Version : klx vs v2

zach R 7x
12-02-2010, 07:33 AM
Remember I am new to this subject .LOL!
I have a question on cyl heads that can be installed on the pister 125 motors.

Is the klx dirt bike heads as good or better than the v2 head that Pister is selling for these motors?

This is not a tagagawa (sp) ,a stock klx head. I was told the valves are bigger. True??

Any insite would be appriciated.

Tim

Ride1Rob
12-02-2010, 10:10 AM
We run the KLX style head on Jams bike. The v2 on our 150 setup will work wonders over our ported KLX head. Should be the same for the 125. Only thing you probably need to check into is will it be overkill. The TB heads ports are so huge it actually robs performance of what the head could do if the ports were smaller. Been there done that :rolleyes: . lol

zach R 7x
12-02-2010, 11:58 AM
I can get the klx at a great price but was not sure if it was worth the time or money to install.

Rob, what motor are you running this head on? Is it the same as I have?

Have you guys ever dynoed your quads? just curious.

Ride1Rob
12-03-2010, 03:23 AM
Piranha 150. Your engine is slightly different than ours but performance is pretty much equal between the two. Terry has all the hp info.

T@AFP
12-03-2010, 09:44 AM
I talked to Terry again last night about our Pitster 125 engine. That guy knows his chit for sure. I'm going to send him our engine next week to see what he can come up with. Terry told me the V2 head w/ some work done to it is a good choice. Until you get into the Takagawa 4 valve. But then your talking big bucks.

One thing he mentioned to me that has me thinking is this.
He asked why the rules only allow a 90cc 2 stroke vs a 125cc 4 stroke? He things the 4 stroke cc should be atleast a 150cc against the 90cc 2 stroke. That makes way more sence to me.

Sorry Tim, didn't mean to Hi jack your thread.

zach R 7x
12-03-2010, 01:54 PM