PDA

View Full Version : 400ex suspention chassie Q's

250rforlife
11-24-2010, 09:29 PM
kk im redoin my bike this winter. new topend. but im doing some gncc races this summer , but majorly just intermediate- harsh trail riding. i have a stock frame no gussets. ill have 450r shocks revalved for my weight. do i have to worry about my frame cracking? im doing no jumps over 30ft. thanks!

slightlybent47
11-24-2010, 09:58 PM
I wouldn’t think so, I have been racing mx on a stock frame for going on 4 years now with no issues at all. I jump 50 footers all the time so unless you’re a big guy I think you’ll be fine.

slightlybent47
11-24-2010, 10:05 PM
Ok let me add that riding conditions are not all the same so if your riding in a rocky area I think you may have more stress on the frame. Also if those 30 footers are with no landing ramp and your landing on flat ground you may have an issue. If you come up short on a jump and case it on some rocky ground that could be a problem.
I will add that I have cased it lots of times on some big jumps and it’s holding up.

SpasticR450
11-24-2010, 11:15 PM
I had a lot of hard landings on my 400 chassis Because stock shocks at the time and never one crack or bend and im talking landings that when I landed all 4 tires would bounce back up off the ground.

-TheDude-
11-26-2010, 02:40 PM
if your gonna be racing get your rear shock rebuilt and get a gt thunder xc link, so your rear end wont bounce all over the place. call greg at greg atv he is an awesome shock dude (740) 622-9988 tell him greg from omr told you to call he will hook you up

CJM
11-26-2010, 03:21 PM
Originally posted by -TheDude-
if your gonna be racing get your rear shock rebuilt and get a gt thunder xc link, so your rear end wont bounce all over the place. call greg at greg atv he is an awesome shock dude (740) 622-9988 tell him greg from omr told you to call he will hook you up