PDA

View Full Version : repacking exhaust

eotrx400ex
11-22-2010, 07:07 PM
i have a curtis sparks system that is WAY to loud. im thinking about repacking and was looking at material on ebay thats Ceramic fiber and an inch thick.I'm new at this so My question is if i double up on it when wrapping with that make it even quieter? any other advice?

quadrider2112
11-23-2010, 08:07 PM
i recommend the fmf 4 stroke packing. The white stuff it kinda like a pillow. It lasts and it will give you that crisp sound.

mxpimp2000
11-26-2010, 01:55 PM
Originally posted by quadrider2112
i recommend the fmf 4 stroke packing. The white stuff it kinda like a pillow. It lasts and it will give you that crisp sound.

i cant find the fmf pillow, i even asked my dealer and they cant get it. there is no part # for it,

quadrider2112
01-01-2011, 03:50 PM
sry if this is so late that you already got something else. Get on ebay motors atv parts and search exhaust packing. The white fmf 4 stroke packing is the one i use its not jus super loose fiber its tighter kinda like pillow material it not an actual pillow. its very dense

QuadforceDavid
01-02-2011, 07:43 PM
You can order a similar "pillow" from Sparks or you can use the DASA pillow too. I like the DASA pillow better, it has a strip of adhesive on it so when you roll it up, it sticks to itself....no coming un-done while you put it in the can. Makes it a lot easier. The DASA pillow costs about 25 bucks and the Sparks is about the same in cost, they each typically last about 40hrs of riding.

mxpimp2000
01-02-2011, 08:04 PM
i paid over 40 for my sparks pillow pack. It didnt last but 5 or 6 races thats around 4-8hrs worth of riding.

QuadforceDavid
01-03-2011, 08:17 AM
Interesting....I know DASA recently had a problem with their packing pillows, maybe Curtis uses the same manufacturers.

I don't race mine, mainly screw around at local tracks and do a lot of duning. Maybe racing puts more stress on the packing???