PDA

View Full Version : Bleh....Sticky Situation

XCAdam89
11-18-2010, 04:42 PM
So I've been having an FML moment lately and I need to vent. So here it goes. I've been trying to get my car repainted since about July, been looking around for the right people, getting reviews, etc. I landed a job at carmax over the summer and figured it would be my best bet (and cheapest) if I had one of the guys I worked with paint it. Thinking that I knew them on a personal level, they would do a better job and work with me on price as much as possible. What I wanted was simple, a few rust spots taken care of and a fresh coat of paint.

After asking around, there's 2-3 people who were recommended to do good work. One wanted around $700, the others closer to $2k. So naturally, being a poor college student, I decided to go with the more affordable option. After all, its not complex at all. The car is still super shiny, mainly just needs rust spots taken care of and blended in.

So. This was around September. He asked me to give him money for supplies, totaling around $500ish. Which was fine. I have no problem paying for stuff that needs to be bought in order to get the ball rolling. I got a handwritten receipt that he signed outlining the amount of payments and the date.

Now, over 2 months later. The dude is bs'ing like crazy and no longer works with me. I still have his ##, but he hasn't been answering my texts/calls in the past few days. I'm worried I'm getting ripped off and genuinely pissed that it has taken this long already. I wanted it done by october at the latest. I'm going to Europe the first part of december and want this taken care of.

My dad is ready to get the authorities involved if I dont hear anything back by tomorrow. Any suggestions? His dad works at rosner in town, so I'm going to try and talk to him tomorrow, but then I think the police is the only route to take. He has $450 of mine and I only have $200 in supplies. Somethings gotta give.

CJM