PDA

View Full Version : bought a 01 400ex

ctdiesel99
09-07-2010, 10:18 PM
I just picked up my new (to me) 2001 400ex yesterday. I bought it knowing it needs a little bit of work but feel like i got it for a steal at $900. So on to the stuff it needs i need some help with. when i went and looked at it i wiggled the rear end back and fourth, and it had quite a bit of play. Carrier bearing? second, when my buddy lifted the front end up, i wiggled the two front tires back and fourth (separately) and they both had some play in them as well. It's supposed to be bored to a 440, also has an aftermarket intake, and a big gun exhaust. I took the quad for a ride several times in the last day, and it rides good. awesome power, pull the wheels up in 1-3 gears. havent had a lot of time in anything past 3rd, but it wont idle without a little bit of throttle. needs to be rejetted? I'm completely new to the 400ex world, my last quad was a warrior 350, and this 400ex is by far faster and handles better, i just need to get this suspension stuff straightened out so i can fully enjoy it. thanks in advance for any help you all can offer me. look forward to spending time on this forum.

ish416
09-08-2010, 02:52 AM
Welcome to the forums.

As far as the things you need to fix, the bearings in the axle carrier are most likely shot.

As for the front end, check the tie rods, sometimes they just need tightened up, other times they will need replaced. It could also be worn out on the bottom of the steering stem as that has happened to me.