PDA

View Full Version : what is the fastest 70cc combination?

asadad00
08-30-2010, 09:45 PM
I have a drr 50 that will be converted to a 70 this winter , I want everything new and the latest and greatest in parts( long travel suspension is done) , tell me what you like on your dream 70 . What is winning at the nationals ? I would like to buy the best and be done. I would like it to reliable also. I am a fair mechanic, can I do this build or should I pay a pro ? I will need
cylinder kit
crank kit
ignition
exhaust
carb
intake
clutching
thanks for the input.

Logan #34's Dad
08-31-2010, 05:02 AM
I can tell you that the two fastest quads at the Nationals this year were different engine combos.
Bassani runs a Polini cylinder built/tuned by Hetrick
Wotring ran a few different cylinder and beat all of us to turn one and he is a bigger boy.
With that being said, The right pipe/cylinder combo is very important.
I believe Wotring ran the new HotQuads pipe.
Bassani ran a pipe that I believe the Hetrick 70 pipe was designed from. (I could be wrong)
My engine combo is very good also and there were a few of them that really ran well and seemed to be bullet proof.
Mine: Malossi Team Cylinder, Hebo long rod crank, Hetrick 70 pipe, Stage6 pvl, 28mm pwk carb, Vforce reeds.
Malossi overrange cvt is the easiest and the least likely to fail from worn belts. It is the easiest on belts.
As far as the "pros", be careful, one is outrageous in what he charges (PM me and I'll give you who).

So, their are many different ways to go AND you'll get alot of different answers on this one. All I know is that no-one could match the turn one speed of Bassani or Wotring this year. Check the results - no-one else beat them for an overall.
PM me and I'll tell you how it is and where to go.

asadad00
08-31-2010, 08:38 PM