PDA

View Full Version : 2000 400ex 3rd gear Problems

Dibble_Brandon
08-18-2010, 12:46 PM
Hello everyone, my name is Brandon and i'm new to this forum. I read all the sticky's to make sure i'm not asking a common question to!! haha I just bought my first ATV, a 2000 400ex. The guy i bought it from told me that it has a 426 kit with few hours on it, and a stage 2 hotcam in it, he "said" replaced 2nd and 3rd gear, White Brothers E series slip on, Tusk nerf bars/heal guard, after market plastics... I took it for my first ride at Florence, OR and i got out on some flats and under heavy acceleration in 3rd gear it feels like the clutch is slipping in and out of gear. Every other gear worked good for me for some time until i decided to trailer her. When I am sitting on it, I can only shift up to third gear then down also. On my sisters 300ex i can shift threw all of them, up and down. I am new to the ATV world and just wanted to get some input on what anyone would think it could be. :)

Also while i was riding it, I went to kill it on the beach and the starter kept going? If i put it in gear it would even roll until I started unplugging connections, and holding in the choke would completely kill it to. I plugged it all back in and it was good to go for 20 minutes, then it did it again. I bought new bars for it and the power/kill switch is really dirty inside. I was thinking about getting a new power/kill switch, a new key ignition (its in bad shape also), and a new starter solenoid to try and fix the problem. Is there anything else it could be?

I really appreciate any help anyone can give me! Thanks!

CJM
08-18-2010, 04:14 PM
I would start by removing the clutch side (right side if your sitting on it) cover and see what the clutch looks like. However from what your saying I would assume the actual transmission may be damaged due to not wanting to shifter properly at all after you shut it down and 3rd slips.

Wheelie
08-18-2010, 07:48 PM