PDA

View Full Version : Unemployment? Here's my situation..

MX MaNiAc 06
08-13-2010, 09:04 PM
Alright I'm in a bit of a pickle and need some advice..

So I've been working for this country club for the past 4 years. With the economy it has been through a lot in the time i have been there.

I started out as dishwasher, then started to cook a little bit. After i had been there a couple years i went from 6.50 an hour to $8.50 and cooking on the line. THEN the restaurant got new management...

So i had almost been there for 3 years and i get started back as a dishwasher making minimum wage. Had to go to two interviews and beg for the damn job too. But it didn't take very long to get back to cooking and making a little more money.

So as of NOW it is me and one other guy running the kitchen. The other day i got called into my manager's office and he informed me and my co-worker that the restaurant is getting new management AGAIN!! I'm basically getting laid off at the end of the month..

And i have to note that i start back at college 3 days after new management takes over.

So i have two options!!

1. Beg the new people for a job and work on the weekends. Probly start out minimum wage washing dishes again...

2. Get unemployment. I am not sure if i can even get it because I'm in school. I worked 50-60 hours a week during the summer. But last year i only worked 10-15 hours on the weekends.

What should i do?! I have til the end of August to make a decision.

Kickstarts-suck
08-13-2010, 09:21 PM
You can get unemployment easily being in school.

They can even help you out MORE being that your in school.

turboTony
08-13-2010, 09:22 PM
If you worked the full past year, you are eligible for unemployment. They average out your earnings by quarter. Being a student will have no adverse effect. In fact, if you start going to school while you are on unemployment, it helps your chance of getting extensions...