PDA

View Full Version : what exhaust do i need?

bean #310
08-11-2010, 11:26 PM
Im new to the 2stroke world, just got an 86 r and rebuilding it from the ground up. i tore the entire motor down and put all new bearing in it and wiseco crank for an 87-89 with an 87-89 top end. it has stock bore and piston and is ported, now all i need to know is what kind of exhasut i need, can i get some opinions?

atvmxr
08-12-2010, 08:07 AM
do you know who did the porting or what kind it is (XC, MX, dragracing)

what kind of riding do you do?

maryland450r
08-12-2010, 08:11 AM
It mainly depends on what kind of riding you do, or where you want the meat of your power. Since your cylinder is ported, what kind of porting is done...... low/mid MX , upper midrange, or top end drag?? You usually want to try to match up the power characteristics of the pipe to your porting, etc. to get the most out of it.

ESR. CT Racing, Duncan are a few of the top contenders for pipes. Each have a pipe for each rpm range.

bean #310
08-12-2010, 08:58 AM
im not sure what kind of porting is done to it since i bought it like that off of ebay. it will be staying out on the track, and doin some trail riding and thats all i dont know how i need to jet my carb either

maryland450r
08-12-2010, 10:06 AM
I would recommend going with one of the following..

CT National Pipe-- Excellent low and mid range power ( I have this on my current 250r, definitely like it but will be selling it soon to try out something different)

ESR Trx5 -- Excellent all around low and mid power. A little less low end/ more top end power than the CT National

ESR Trx9 -- A little more top end oriented but still has great all around power ( This is what I want to try out since I do a lot of open field/ open trail riding)

I think the National or the trx5 would be better suited for you. There are others too but i personally am not too familiar with them.