PDA

View Full Version : sponsor ships

DRC
08-04-2010, 09:39 AM
First of all I'm new to all of this racing stuff. I know absolutely nothing about racing, so any help would be greatly appreciated.
how do sponsor ships work? and how do you get sponsored? what is the point of a sponsor ship? please explain how this racing stuff works. thanks everyone.

yellowhonda400
08-04-2010, 10:03 AM
sponsors give you money/gear so that their companys name gets out there. for example fox will give u a jersey and pants along with like 50 bucks. If you do good racing people will see you wearing fox and buy foxs gear. This is my understanding of it. hope it helps

06typeS
08-04-2010, 10:08 AM
in a nutshell i agree, its a way to make racing a little more affordable (if possible ha ha)

But to get a sponsor from fox you would have to be placing very high each time you race and would have to be working your way up on the competitive level.

Also you can look for local sponsorship to pay entry fee's, offer motor work, tires ...etc

But its not just free money, gear, and work usually you have to give something in return like do signings or showings, refer people to them and such.

Its a two way street and some people don't understand that and just expect stuff to be given to them. Its a good way to get a bad rep and end up without having a sponsor.

I always come up with a list of what i can offer and take that in with me if im looking for sponsorship.

DRC
08-04-2010, 10:25 AM
how would someone go about getting a sponsor ship? Do you have to be a good racer. And do you have to even race. from what i can see any type of publicity would be good for any cycle shop, brand, etc.

06typeS
08-04-2010, 10:46 AM
sponsorship goes with racing, lots of people come out to the races and watch and thats what gets their name out.

A crowd of 500 is more valuable then a crowd of 20 people on the trails.