PDA

View Full Version : High School for Riders

T Creech
07-30-2010, 05:14 PM
I have been kind of busy lately working on something on a project that seemed kind of cool... maybe interesting to some of you maybe not.

If you are in California you may benefit, and one of the only things besides discussion forums and facebook that are free for riders.

I used to do quite a bit with the nationals, ATV, and a lot of other stuff... now I do other things... but always I have been a teacher, Math (I know - ewww).

So, I have this kid who started cutting pictures out of motorcycle and atv magazines when he was old enough to talk me into buying them and taping them all over his bedroom. He advanced into putting all kinds of stickers on things, and yes he rode too. We did encourage him to beleive in himself. He did. And we live in the weirdest part of the country to try to do this sport - you thought your area was wierd - try Northern California - even LA has more places to ride - legally... Anyway, in the olden days, back in 1996 or so, there was some racing up this way... and we had a lot of fast guys up here, still do. This child of mine decided that he wanted to race nationals, yet he was in 9th grade. This didn't work well together. You can't be gone for weeks during the school year, so we stuck to local races for a couple of years.

Right about this time of the year, in 1998 he talked his Dad and I (actually he and a friend buddied up against the parents... we were out-voted) - into making the trek to Loretta's, all the way from extremely Northern California. It took almost 4 days to get there. He won the race. In the 250 A Class. His first time at a National. Some of you may know the rest of his story...