PDA

View Full Version : MX front width

Jamey1E
07-21-2010, 04:13 PM
Do any of you guys run +3 in front and rears. If so what would that bring the final width to. Also if you run long travel front suspension do you have to run long travel rears to make the suspension work right. Just wondering because I recently picked up a +3 in Leager Elka front end cheap and was wondering if it was worth using or sale it to buy +2 in. By the way I'm new to quads and only ride MX, spent the last 8 years riding bikes and picked up a quad to see how I liked it so I got an 04 450R.

tjsdaname
07-21-2010, 05:14 PM
I run a +3 janssen outlaw long travel front end with LT fox float evols

and it is awesome! an I have not measured the front end width yet, but I think it's at about 48 inches

BlaineKaiser450
07-21-2010, 06:31 PM
If you run a +3 front end with 4:1 rims you will be at 50. My plus 4 axle with stock offset rims was 49.5 inches. By no means do you have to have a long travel rear, but aftermarket is definatly worth it if you have the front. You will notice a bigger difference with the rear end anyways

D Bergstrom
07-21-2010, 07:29 PM
If you have a true +3 front end, you will be over 50". Both of my 450R's have a true +3 front end and they are 51" wide with 4:1 offset wheels. I have run three different front ends on my 450R's over the years, below are the widths that went along with the a-arm width:

+2 arms - 49" wide
+2.5 arms - 50" wide
+3 arms - 51" wide

All the widths are with 4:1 wheels, and they are approximate. I know usually when you are checked for width, you have to ride between two vertical bars that are exactly 50" apart. If you fit, you are good. That is how I measure my front ends, two vertical bars placed along the sidewall of the front tires. I then sit on the quad so my weight makes it a little wider and spreads the bars a little, get off the quad and push it out of the way, then measure between the two bars. This is the way I got the above widths.