View Full Version : FCR questions

78ta
07-19-2010, 08:18 PM
I just installed a 39mm FCR on my built stroker motor. It appears to be some sort of conversion carb. It doesn't have a choke or hot start setup....not even drilled for them. Pretty much just bolted on, only needed to move airbox 3/4" forward.

I started it up and seems to run pretty good...except for it cuts out and dies when you snap the throttle wo.

Do they make an adjustable accelorator pump kit for these? I'm new to the fcr.

for the record, its a 460 hotrods kit, ported head, +1mm valves, hotcam stage 1, dmc dual exhaust, k&n lid. I'm currently running a 180 main and a 52 pilot 2 turns out.

07-20-2010, 06:20 AM
for one you need to go with a stage 2 or 3 cam. when i put that carb on my 440 high comp. i had to change the jets. it came with 42/190 i think now its at 50/155 to 50/160

4reeds
07-20-2010, 09:29 AM
I had to go to 55/168. Check your slow jet and f/s. I think mine is 2 3/4 turns

NacsMXer
07-20-2010, 10:21 AM
I have that same carb on mine but with the stage 3 cam. My motor mods are below.

Here's my current jetting:

Pilot: 55
Fuel screw: 2 turns out
Needle: OCEMP needle middle/4th notch
Main: 175

I would suggest taking the intake bell off the carb and double check the main air jet, and air screw settings. There are 2 allen head screws holding it to the carb. Once off, you will see the main air jet and air screw.

The main air jet should be size 200, and the air screw next to it should be 2 to 2 1/4 turns out from seated.

drew416ex
07-20-2010, 07:24 PM
I also agree you need a stage 3. I am running a 200 main, and a 52 pilot in my 440 stroker so youre prob lean on the main. they do make an adjustable pump but they are expensive. If you get your jetting dialed in you wont need to adjust it.

78ta
07-20-2010, 07:26 PM