PDA

View Full Version : more power

99exrider94
07-12-2010, 11:10 PM
:confused: Ok so i was wondering how to grinnd the head pipes down (the part thats goes into the engine) i am not sure exactly what to do and how? im just trying to get the most out of my 400 at low cost!!!!

also how would i jet with this mod plus ehs airbox lid and my performance exhaust insert?

<br>
thanks in advance:confused:

JOHNDOE83
07-12-2010, 11:20 PM
the cheapest ways to get more power are ditching the airbox, choke removal, get rid of the oil catch on the intake tube and plugging the hole on the intake boot, then putting a small filter on the crank case breather tube, header welds and proper jetting.

if you do all these at once, youll notice a good lil gain in power.

if you do a search there are threads on removing the header welds with pictures.

99exrider94
07-12-2010, 11:35 PM
cool thanks about the choke removal how would that do with cold starts.

im new at this i just ride and do the normal chain and sprocket and oil change stuff lol but now i wanna go deeper into it lol just need a lil help

JOHNDOE83
07-12-2010, 11:44 PM
for the choke removal you get a bigger pilot jet.

try a 42 pilot jet, no choke is needed, you just pump the throttle a few times and hit the start button....if it doesnt do it so easy try a slightly bigger pilot jet.

42 was fine for me at sea level with a 440 kit so you should be fine with the 42 also.

I just unscrewed the choke plate, then popped the black cap off of the carb where the choke lever is and I basically pulled the rest right out. put the cap back on and it was done.

It was several years ago, there may have been a lil more to it, but its self explanatory once you start doing it.

99exrider94
07-13-2010, 12:21 AM
thanks man i got my quad all apart in the garage lol i cant wait to do this i also was wondering how to do the header mod i kinda have an idea put i dont wanna screw it up lol no cash to fix it if i do

Kentang4
07-13-2010, 10:07 PM