PDA

View Full Version : adding a sparks pipe

bigbad400
06-12-2010, 12:30 PM
so i just bought a sparks racing exhaust. what do i have to have to go with? is the programmer a definite for a full pipe or will the cherry bomb make up for it? i already have the cherry bomb and right now cant afford a programmer but got a full sparks pipe for 275. so i had to have it. whats ur 2 cents on the subject? again im very new to fuel injected quads.

y-man
06-12-2010, 02:07 PM
i dont know much about efi either but as far as i know the cherry bomb should work. You shouldnt need anything the efi should do it all for u even if u didnt have the cherry bomb. Once u put a pipe and everything on the efi will change everything so it runs right. i think this is right but i could be wrong. hope this helps im sure somebody else will help ya to.

bigbad400
06-13-2010, 07:02 AM
i kinda figured the efi would remap itself to some extent but how much? i don't want to run lean. and i don't have the money for a programmer right now. :(

Canadian144
06-13-2010, 07:30 AM
It all depends on the pipe... I have no experience with the sparks pipe so I can't say for sure. With just the cherry bomb, the Yoshimura RS5 will run properly. I've been told that most pipes will run fine with just the cherry bomb, my DMC full system has been.

The only pipe that I know that you 100% need to get a fuel programmer is the Dasa pipe.

bigbad400
06-13-2010, 07:35 AM
ill run with the lid on till i can afford one. and the stock filter.

Canadian144
06-13-2010, 08:47 AM
Yeah sounds good. You should be fine.

hondaracer31
06-13-2010, 08:58 AM
The EFI on the LTR will NOT remap itself! The Cherry Bomb is simply a resistor which forces the EFI into a richer fuel map. If you need to "rejet" you have to have a programmer. Only programmers with the sensor in the exhaust pipe will adjust themselves.
The EFI will only adjust itself for temp. and altitude changes. Not pipes and modifications to the intake or motor.

pitcrew