PDA

View Full Version : Am I at a higher risk for having Cancer.. again?!

Brauap
06-09-2010, 01:19 PM
Hello. Some of my friends at school had said being I had already had cancer, that I was at a higher risk of getting it again if I chew.. which I don't or anything..:chinese:

I had cancer when I was 8 of the Kidney.. I had my kidney removed and I have been "cured" for 7 almost 8 years now.. and I was wondering.. being I had cancer of the kidney, am I at a higher risk of getting cancer, again, of the gum/cheek/lip?

ZeroLogic
06-09-2010, 01:38 PM
Chewing ups your chance of mouth cancer to 50 percent. Its greater or lesser depending on family history.

I know people who got cancer after 5 years of dipping and I know people 60+ years old who still dip with no cancer.

I've been doing it for about 5 or 6 years and all I gotta say is if you don't do it, then don't start. ;)

Quad18star
06-09-2010, 01:41 PM
Being that you've already had cancer , your risk is greater than most other people.
Seeing that you already beat the odds once , I wouldn't chance it and start or do something that is medically proven to cause cancer.

Brauap
06-09-2010, 01:48 PM
Damn... umm... crap.

Another rumor that I want to ask.. is it true that crew also has something (one way or another) to do with weightloss?

gncc025
06-09-2010, 01:51 PM
I wouldnt even think about smoking, chewing or using any type of tobacco if I were in your shoes. You have been blessed to survive cancer once. I think you owe it to the big man upstairs to stay clean of tobacco or any cancer causing substances.

tayyo789
06-09-2010, 02:00 PM
ya dude, literally nothing good comes out of any type of tobacco. There is no positive side

Regular_Joe
06-09-2010, 02:20 PM
I never realized until a neighbor got sick that smoking is really bad for the kidneys too. Apparently many smokers get kidney cancer. The kidneys are responsible for filtering all the crap from smoking out of the blood, and its not good.

chucked