PDA

View Full Version : low end?

bigbad400
05-30-2010, 03:50 PM
whats a good cam, pipe, etc. that will have good low to mid gains? this thing has top end for days but would like a lot more bottom end without re gearing. what do you guys do to get more down low?

LTandRaptorider
05-30-2010, 08:12 PM
I have no experience with a cam so can't say. But for pipe I researched and seemed the HMF gave the best on low-end. So i got a slip-on and love it. Def gives more on the low-end, which as you know is where it's needed on the LTR. I think it revs a little quicker also. If you're just doing a pipe, then a slip-on is all you need. But if you go the cam and controller route, then you want to get the full system.

soapman72
05-30-2010, 11:53 PM
In every case that I am aware of, swapping the cam(s) will take away bottom end but give you a little more top end.

Re-gearing does nothing to increase low end, although many people refer to gearing down as a fix for low end. All it rally does is raise the rpm's for any given speed in any gear when compared to that same speed and gear selection with your previous taller gearing. Of course, there is a small increase in torque multiplication, but that is true at any rpm, not just the low end that people refer to.

Now, you could consult with a knowledgeable tuner and see if porting can help increase intake velocity at lower rpm's. Improved cylinder filling at low rpm's will improve torque, but I'm not sure that the LTR head can be ported in such a way to accomplish this. Most tuners will port for more top end. In any event, the difference wont be huge.

The last and most effective option would be to go big bore or a stroker crank. Ether way, extra cc's means more power, with the better improvement cling from the stroker crank.

That last option will get expensive if you go the stroker route. I for one think the 2008 and up LTRs make fantastic low end for a 450.