PDA

View Full Version : Computer fans on oil cooler?

DGR Designs
01-31-2003, 06:52 PM
i was thinking, could i take 2 little computer fans and mount them on the backside of my oil cooler with a pipe clamp to pull some of the heat away when running slow on trail runs in the dead summer heat? how could i wire these? i have an extra switch beside my neutral indicator light that i could hook it to so i could turn it on and off (it was left over from when i had my thumb warmer). where could i run this from so my battery wont discharge? im not too good with electrical so thats why i am asking. lata guys!
~Dave

GNCC#829
01-31-2003, 07:03 PM
I think you would need a DC fan. A computer fan runs on AC.

DGR Designs
01-31-2003, 07:25 PM
the ones im looking at are 12volt DC electronics cooling fans. would they work?

GNCC#829
01-31-2003, 07:33 PM
If they are DC they should work. I know alot of people who put cooling fans on the old 300 4X4's, and they seemed to work really good.

JOEX
01-31-2003, 08:52 PM
Yeah..but how long will they last with the abuse of offroad riding? Water, dirt, dust etc...I think it will be a waste of time, money and resorces. JMO.

Joe

tjd400
02-01-2003, 07:09 AM
Have had these on for about 8 months. They have been pressure washed, mud washed and they still work. I got them at radio shack for around 14.00 they are 12volt :D

gojk
02-01-2003, 08:39 AM
All computer components are DC. The AC plugs into a Power supply which changes the power to 5v or 12v depending on the plug yuo use. Most if not all case fans are 12v, ad should work, except that they don't seem to last too long even in computers. The dust gets on the brushes and they just quit working.

tjd400
02-01-2003, 11:41 AM
I've had no probs with mine at all. On the back of the fan where the wires come out I sealed it with some silcone. They have even taken the full force of my pressure washer on them when washing out the oil cooler and they still work fine.

Martin Blair
02-01-2003, 12:27 PM