PDA

View Full Version : shock travel question

muddymess
05-22-2010, 07:42 PM
I have a set of 450r shocks that I have sent to GTT twice now. The issue im having is that according to GTT web site when the quad is 12 inches off the ground the front tires should be 1/2 inch off the ground. Well mine stay on the ground and i have to jack the quad up almost another inch before they even start to lift up. When i told laz about it the first time he said ship them back and he would correct it. well there still not right and they removed the preload collar in the process.

Should I make a pissed off phone call monday or is this something thats expected since there 450r shocks and theres no way to fix it.

cdrookie
05-23-2010, 08:32 AM
IMO, if they work good i could care less if they do what it says on a web site.

muddymess
05-23-2010, 04:29 PM
well im not a shock expert and i have no clue what the longer drop will effect. I just paid good money to have them set up just right.

You wouldn't pay the same price for a new car with a scratch down the side as you would for one without would you.

Honda 250r 001
05-23-2010, 06:47 PM
im guessing that was just an estimate because they didnt know what a arms or spindles you had on your 250r.

I personally wouldnt worry about it. If you send them back. there just going to shorten them up, and they will have less shaft travel than before. which = harder to tune, more likely to bottom out. etc etc.

muddymess
05-23-2010, 07:13 PM
they knew i had stock a-arms. not only is it part of the form you have to fill out i told them this in the email when I first asked about the shock droop

atvmxr
05-23-2010, 09:28 PM
so they have more travel than advertised and you are upset? I must be missing something...

muddymess
05-23-2010, 09:31 PM