PDA

View Full Version : air filter & screen question

crday98
05-09-2010, 12:36 PM
i've been searching forums high and low on deciding on which filter to get for my 08 R. i am 100% sure that i am going with a foam type filter. i have been looking at the sparks filter with billet ring and the uni filter. as we all know, the sparks set up eliminates the use of the backfire protector/cage insert. i am fairly new to the R and i am curious how common of an issue is there with backfire through the carb? it seems like a properly jetted carb should never do this but the fact that the factory filter comes with one tells me otherwise and that there is a chance of this happening from time to time??

the uni filter comes with a backfire protector/cage insert but i have read many posts stating that the uni filter's cage is slightly tapered and does not fit very well and results in filters falling off during riding. is this true from your own experience using the uni filter with the uni cage? i have aso read posts where there are some using the sparks billet ring with the uni filter and cage. is anybody running this particular set-up? if so... how well does it work? i am also curious of there is less restriction in the uni gace versus the stock one?

i honestly believe that there is no difference in performance between any single foam filter to the other providing that they are the same size and whether they come with a backfire protector/cage insert. what i am saying is that i believe that the foam filter element itself shouldn't perform any different from one brand to the other so this makes me raise another option for me..... i was thinking about just drilling out the stock cage insert or even cutting the whole thing off as this is obviously a big and possibly the only restriction on the stock air filter and just using the stock filter element.