PDA

View Full Version : tip on oiling air filters(money saver) with pics

krt400ex
04-29-2010, 07:18 PM
alright so i've noticed that the aerosal filter oil is much easier to apply and apply evenly. problem is that its expensive. way to expensive for me to afford. so i figured that buying in bulk will save money in the long run, and i have always been partial to the twin air filter oil anyway. beings that i have a big can of it that i've been using for two years now, i decided to turn it into spray on oil.

i went out and bought a spray bottle and i poured the filter oil in it, and then screwed the nozzle in so it had a nice fine, wide spritz
http://i168.photobucket.com/albums/u193/without_a_clue/a.jpg
http://i168.photobucket.com/albums/u193/without_a_clue/b.jpg

i found that this method is much less messy than doing it the conventional way. and i think its quicker. i sprayed the filter coating it lightly.
http://i168.photobucket.com/albums/u193/without_a_clue/c.jpg
http://i168.photobucket.com/albums/u193/without_a_clue/d.jpg

and then i put the filter back in the bag and worked it into the filter. i then pulled the filter out and sopped up any excess with paper towel

http://i168.photobucket.com/albums/u193/without_a_clue/e.jpg

and installed it on the quad.

http://i168.photobucket.com/albums/u193/without_a_clue/f.jpg

i had a piece of scrap wood laying around that i used because of over spray. i'm sure people have thought of this before, but i thought i'd share the info for anyone who might be looking for a better way to oil your filter. thanks for looking guys

protraxrptr17
04-30-2010, 07:08 AM
Works good the first time, but then the oil clogs up the sprayer and the alcohol swells the seals. Probably work good if you find a regular cap for the bottle and clean out the sprayer right after you use it. I've tried it.

jcv400ex
04-30-2010, 10:45 PM
I would just pour oil into a bag, insert filter in bag, work oil into filter, ring out excess oil, keep reusing bag.