View Full Version : Rough idle and hard to start after cam mod

chucked
04-10-2010, 04:58 AM
I just bought a new 2007 left over yesterday. I put about 3 hours on it then did the cam mod and zip tie mod after the same time. The mods definitely made an impressive power increase, but it's harder to start and idles a lot rougher then when it was factory. If this is normal I'm ok with that. Just want to check with others first, I have no experience with the yfz.

chucked
04-10-2010, 05:01 AM
Also, my head pipe glows BRIGHT RED HOT after running it. Never seen one glow this bright before! Could it use a fattening up from the factory?

florentino
04-10-2010, 10:52 AM
Originally posted by chucked
I just bought a new 2007 left over yesterday. I put about 3 hours on it then did the cam mod and zip tie mod after the same time. The mods definitely made an impressive power increase, but it's harder to start and idles a lot rougher then when it was factory. If this is normal I'm ok with that. Just want to check with others first, I have no experience with the yfz.

its your jeting!!! you will need bigger jets main pilot. and you a pipe to run better .. and make sure you are runnig 91 or 95 will help your bike run cooler. but you have to say all your mods and where you at for the jets

chucked
04-10-2010, 12:31 PM
Nevermind

chucked
04-10-2010, 07:13 PM
I went out on the air fuel screw about a half a turn and raised the needle up a tad. The bike is all stock except for wHat I mentioned

quadrider2112
04-11-2010, 09:26 AM
Man hes right you needa go up on the main and prolly the pilot to i wood start at 165 main and check plug and go from there. prolly go to a 45 pilot too.

chucked
04-11-2010, 10:23 AM
I said I fixed it :huh

standardryder
04-11-2010, 01:00 PM
Originally posted by chucked
I said I fixed it :huh

These things crave fuel from the factory, doing the cam mod makes it worse. You didnt fix your problem, just covered it up.

chucked
04-11-2010, 01:05 PM