PDA

View Full Version : TRX, YFZ, or LTR??

ElSean13
03-25-2010, 09:33 AM
Ok so im gettin off the ol 250r and trying to decide on what quad to get and i need some help! im VERY new to 4 strokes

I switch between MX and XC and race both, heres what ive heard and what i know and like about each one (buying used)

TRX: I could only afford an 04-05, MAYBE an 06, the '04's have some weak frames and weak cranks, I believe the '05's also have some weak cranks? Whats the better year? If their as good as everyone says, the only thing stopping me is how expensive they are

LTR: i havent heard ANY negatives on the bike, the only thing i know about is that on the 06's they would shift down by themselves, i was thinking about getting one but they look WAY to bulky for me and i dont like that, so if its the only thing available i might just go with it, but that bulky look and feel pisses me off

YFZ: Basically i can get one cheap, and still have money to build it, havent heard to much positive things on it, whats your take?

krt400ex
03-25-2010, 10:38 AM
get the ktm 450xc if you plan on throwing money at those quads. it comes built already. and if you get the racer package (worth 1500 but most dealers are thrwing it in for free) you will get a slip op, nerfs, front bumer, steering stabilizer, and some other stuff. its ready to go right out of the box and it sits at 47 or 48 inches? you can mx it and xc it.

rollie
03-25-2010, 10:40 AM
All the year honda's have "weak" frames. depends on your riding style though, i know people in the same class and one hasnt crack it yet, and the other had to get a new frame, if you guesset them there much stronger though.

the 04/05's both had crank bearing problems, but if they haven't already been replaced, the bike either has really low hours, or chances are it won't blow.

the 04/05's are identical so don't worry much about year.