PDA

View Full Version : XP 850 owners....

usp4u
03-25-2010, 09:04 AM
I'm picking up an 09 XP850 with 30mi. on it tomorrow. Anything I should know about these ? Common problems/failures ? It will only be used for light trail riding, plowing, yardwork.

predatoradam
03-29-2010, 11:19 AM
I actually just bought one this past Thursday. They are really impressive machines!!!

The two things I know about (Obviously I am new to this as well) are the crankcase vent recall and the balljoint/knuckle recall. I am not too knowledgeable on the crankcase thing, but to learn more about the front balljoint issue, go to youtube and type in "850xp balljoint". There was a machining tolerance issue between the front upper balljoints and the bores in the knuckles.

My dealer had already reparied the crankcase thing, and checked the balljoints before I purchased it. I am keeping an eye on it, as if they fail under warranty, you will get the recall work done completely free.

As I said, they are great quads! Good luck!

usp4u
03-30-2010, 09:43 AM
sounds good.
I picked it up friday, made 2 laps around the yard and put it away. Seems nice, good power for sure.

Giz400ex
04-09-2010, 05:00 AM
So far I'm really pleased with it but I haven't heard about the ball joint recall =(

Polaris 850 Man
09-02-2010, 07:06 PM