PDA

View Full Version : will any other shocks fit?

number12
03-21-2010, 05:45 AM
Good morning fellow Raptor junkies,
As mentioned before, I am really new to this bike. I like it a lot but I have been thinking about shocks. I know that a good suspension costs a lot and I am looking to improve but on a budget. Do you kow if any other shock will fit this bike that is a better shock without the $1000 each price tag? I put some +3, +1 a arms on it and it helped a lot but I can tell that some shocks would really help him out on clearing some jumps, etc. Can the stock ones be rebuilt to help?

Thanks

Quaddad77
03-23-2010, 09:14 PM
I got +4 Jd long travels on mine with stock yfz shocks up front i just put a raptor 660 rear shock on the back the one with the remote res. its a little shorter than the stock one but we just welded another mount in front of the stock mount on the swingarm.

QuadJunkies
03-25-2010, 12:30 AM
Keep your eyes open for people parting out there 250's then you can pick up a pair for less. Also if you race, maybe you could get some kind of rider support possibly from a suspension company you are leaning towards ?
One thing to always keep in mind is the motion ratio ...

Good luck to you !

scrappy3
03-25-2010, 07:49 PM
The September 09 issue of Dirtwheels has a Raptor 250 with +2 long travel a-arms running Honda 450r front shocks.

Quaddad77
03-25-2010, 09:04 PM
yes i tried the honda shocks they dont even come close to working. Way to stiff i weigh 270lbs and i couldn't compress the front end. It also had about 13in of ground clearance. The only way I think the honda shocks would work is if they were revalved and with alot softer spring.I read the same article and that is way i bought the jd a-arm.

scrappy3
03-26-2010, 03:49 PM
Did you us the 04/05 or 06 and up shock? I know the 04/05 have a softer spring on them.

Quaddad77
03-26-2010, 07:45 PM