PDA

View Full Version : coolant

superchrismx
03-18-2010, 07:34 PM
need help my ltr is pushing almost all of of its coolant ont of the Rad. an overflow container every time I ride been try to fix this problem for months an no luck! have replaced the head gasket twice with no luck. Any help would be great!

Thanks
Chris

kyleschonert
03-18-2010, 08:34 PM
How many hours on your LT-R? And what kind of coolant are you running? Could be a blown head gasket. And depending on coolant. Mine would spit Liquid Performance and Engine Ice, so now I just run straight 50/50 mix in mine. I have heard people having good results using Water Wetter.

I'd also wait for someone else to chime in.

panici33
03-18-2010, 09:15 PM
As a novice mechanic, I'm pretty sure fluid spewing out of your overflow has nothing to do with the type of fluid you're running. I use Engine Ice in all my quads and never had a problem, and I have also used 50/50 and had no problem. The fluid is not flowing correctly so maybe the pump is bad, or possibly the thermostat. There is also a fuse for the radiator too. Does your fan run? I wouldn't think it would be the head gasket if you already replaced it twice unless it wasn't done right.

:confused:

kyleschonert
03-18-2010, 09:25 PM
Didn't read the part about the head gasket, there goes that idea.

But mine would spit everything but 50/50, Mike at ATP got me running that and nothing comes out of the overflow at all anymore.

I also run a different radiator cap I got from Pit Posse, I think it is a 1.6 or something like that that is said to help with the coolant spitting.

Not sure what it could be now.

Thinking we need more information though..

superchrismx
03-19-2010, 03:29 AM