View Full Version : yf250f's are they any good?

mineralgrey01gt
03-16-2010, 07:29 PM
i got a hit on a trade for my 400ex today. Its an 06 yz250f, blue and white with a blue frame. It seems to be in good condition, the guy is looking for a racing quad and saw mine online local. Is this a good trade? Are they mechanically good bikes? Im completely new to dirt bikes, ive ridden a few, last one i rode was a 450 a few years ago

EDIT: i know the title is wrong lol

jesseweaver
03-16-2010, 07:45 PM
that sounds like a good trade especially if its straight up. most people say the 06 yz250fs are the best 250fs of that year, and i agree. thats the first year they came with the aluminum frame and a few other changes. the steel frame ones (05 and below) felt really top heavy and didn't handle as good. the 06s and newer are solid bikes. great handling/suspension and excellent reliability. maybe not the fastest of the 250fs but its not far behind. it has smooth controlable power it just doesn't hit as hard. you won't regret it if you get it!

my 06 yzf250

http://i239.photobucket.com/albums/ff71/1999_416ex/DSCN2500.jpg

http://i239.photobucket.com/albums/ff71/1999_416ex/DSCN2497.jpg

http://i239.photobucket.com/albums/ff71/1999_416ex/DSCN1626.jpg

http://i239.photobucket.com/albums/ff71/1999_416ex/DSCN1619.jpg

mineralgrey01gt
03-16-2010, 07:51 PM
just the kind of answer im looking for. My g/f already hates the idea lol (she knows how i am when i ride) but i told her this one will take a little getting used to lol

jesseweaver
03-16-2010, 07:57 PM
Originally posted by mineralgrey01gt
just the kind of answer im looking for. My g/f already hates the idea lol (she knows how i am when i ride) but i told her this one will take a little getting used to lol

yea the first ride or so might be a little frustrating but once you get used to it, you'll never wanna go back!

mineralgrey01gt
03-16-2010, 07:59 PM