PDA

View Full Version : need help with possible CRF hybrid

trx/lt500r
03-15-2010, 07:11 PM
I have a nice lonestar hybrid frame in the garage. I am new to four strokes. I am thinking of building a CRF hybrid.

What year engine is the best to use?
Does the CRF require an oil tank?
What is the toughest part of the build?
What is the best pipe to use?

Thanks for your time

mooseracerX
03-15-2010, 08:07 PM
There is a few different thoughts on years. I have a 2003 in mine and I've heard lots of people liking the 03. The 05 seems to be a popular one too. The CRF doesn't require a oil tank like the yz426's do. For us we just used a stock 400ex frame, but with a Lonestar frame it shouldn't be nearly as hard. Probably for us the hardest part will be jetting and getting the motor to start easily. Lots of people like Rossier or Sparks. I use the LRD Pro 4.

trx/lt500r
03-16-2010, 06:49 PM
thanks for the reply.

I was wondering if anyone had any thoughts on the gearing. Is the motorcycle engine gearing suited for the atv frame? I do a lot of woods riding as well as haul road WOT riding. Is the gearing practical for the ATV frames?

Thanks

mooseracerX
03-16-2010, 07:44 PM
Your welcome. I'm not sure you could get that gearing to work because they don't make that big of sprocket for an ATV. I'm going to try 13/36 and 13/38 and see how that works. For the woods you'd probably want 13/40 but that would cut your top speed down depending on what size tires you plan on using.

deathman53
03-17-2010, 09:01 AM