PDA

View Full Version : new 250r owner!

justin.hughes
03-14-2010, 06:18 PM
I just picked up a 88 250r that is in great shape. I was told the only mods are front itp tires and fmf fatty exhaust. What maintenance should I do? I am not familiar with these.

CODY_M11
03-14-2010, 10:39 PM
im just a rookie with 250rs but i would recomend check case oil, new plug, flush radiator, check all bearing and seals, check to make sure all nuts and bolts are tight and drain fuel and top off with new. just my opinion to make sure everything is the way it should be.

justin.hughes
03-15-2010, 03:26 AM
is the case oil just regular oil with a filter or something different?

IcutMetl
03-15-2010, 04:52 AM
Nope; in a 2-cycle engine, oil only lubes the gears, clutch, etc, and has no filter. Buy a bottle of Honda HP Trans Oil, drain and refill the right amount with that. You'd be doing yourself a HUGE favor if you picked up a factory manual. If you search hard enough online or on here, you should be able to snag one for free- that's how I got mine. Factory manuals are way better than the Haynes, Clymer, or similar.

A few other very basic items; take a look at the air filter and either clean or replace it with a freshly oiled one. Wouldn't be a bad idea to check your compression and make sure your carb is jetted correctly. If you don't know how to do it, find out how or take it to someone who does- it could save you a headache and a light wallet. Make sure you're running premium pump fuel and a good quality premix oil; most will tell you to run 40:1-32:1. Lube cables, check for play in wheel and chassis bearings, inspect the chain and sprockets for wear and replace if needed...things like that. Keep it clean, treat it right, and have fun!

LRD-R
03-15-2010, 05:00 PM
ive had my 89 250r since 1990 keep an eye on yer axle nut prone to work its way loose.go aftermarket and get a different version.or if noy wrap it up in duct tape .it works

justin.hughes
03-16-2010, 04:50 AM