PDA

View Full Version : Hybrid Build-up Thread

brilo_pad
02-24-2010, 02:07 PM
Hey im fairly new here and im one of the few young guns who wish to build a hybrid in the not to distant future. Im thinkin something along the lines of a lonestar 250r frame with CRF motor. Anyways back onto what i came here to ask. I have been scanning the pages of threads in this section trying to find a build-up thread that shows the details involved in building a hybrid. maybe say an in-depth rebuild thread or something?
My problem is i cant seem to find anything like that.. i guess being new to all this i may have missed something in my searchs so i was wondering if one you guys could link me up to a good thread?

As i said im new to all this and its something i've wanted to do right from the first time i saw one of these bikes at my local mx races. So any help would be appreciated thanks.

tayyo789
02-24-2010, 02:39 PM
this is a very good one:

http://www.exriders.com/vbb/showthread.php?s=&threadid=386055

brilo_pad
02-24-2010, 02:54 PM
Thanks man that is a very interesting read. That guy actually converted his 250r frame right? I believe i can actually buy a 250r frame from lonestar though that has been designed to take the CRF450 motor.

tayyo789
02-24-2010, 02:58 PM
I believe its a lonestar 250r frame that he modified to fit the crf in. If you buy the frame for the crf, it would be much much easier.

brilo_pad
02-24-2010, 03:05 PM
Yeah so far thats what ive gathered. i emailed lonestar about this a good while ago and they said they can still make up these 250r frames to suit the CRF engine. For $2300 you get a frame and a sub-frame plus a load of misc hardware. So i think thats the route i will go with.

They also mentioned something about i will need a custom swingarm for that engine? Can you shed any light on that at all?

I have been thinkin its prob because the CRF engine will be shaped differently to the 250r engine were the swing arm bolt goes through.

tayyo789