PDA

View Full Version : Ngk Dp9ae

scottdom
02-19-2010, 03:16 PM
I've been running the stock plugs for ten years now, but have been reading and researching the NGK DP9AE plug because they claim it is a cooler plug that will reduce the head temp by 5-10 degrees. Does anyone have any experience with this plug?

honda400ex2003
02-19-2010, 05:38 PM
dpr9z is the cooler one for the 400 i believe. that one may work also but i would suggest running the dpr9z instead. the stock one is dpr8z. steve

scottdom
02-19-2010, 07:08 PM
was there a big difference between the z and the ae? did you ever use it and could you tell a difference with the temps? thanks for your input.

honda400ex2003
02-19-2010, 08:12 PM
I havent used the cooler plugs before and i am not sure if there is a difference between ae and z. sorry bro. lol. I would just get a dpr9z and use that to cool it down. I have heard that they make quite a difference though, mostly it is used out in the desert or to make it so an engine does not ping so easy. otherwise i would not really see a major difference in them. with the correct jetting i would say that you should not have any overheating issues anyway without temps being 100+. The cooler plug may also require a bit of a jetting change since you will not be burning as much of the fuel with the spark since there is less of it to burn it all. i am not completely sure on this though, just a thought. I am not actually sure how they achieve a cooler running plug but i would assume it puts out less spark thus making it cooler. steve

honda400ex2003
02-19-2010, 08:13 PM
5-10 degrees is not that much to worry about unless you are right on the edge of like 250+ for an oil temp all the time. Just riding a bit different by shifting sooner could lower the temps more than 5-10 degrees. steve

F-16Guy
02-20-2010, 07:32 PM