PDA

View Full Version : 300ex won't start. solenoid? starter? battery?

SET THE STAGE
02-18-2010, 02:26 PM
okay, so a little before winter kicked in my 300ex decided it didn't want to start. i had this problem before but it was usually just a bad ground of poor connection somewhere. this time, no click.

it started up once months ago by crossing the solenoid with a screwdriver but won't do it anymore. i've taken apart every wire i've ever touched and made sure they're all properly connected. today i tried it all again and it clicked once or twice out of maybe 50 tries.

do you think my solenoid has just taken a crap on me finally? i really don't think it's my battery because last time i started it up and cranked over like any battery should. or could it possibly be my starter?

honda300EXtreme
02-18-2010, 02:51 PM
im not 100% sure because im not good at diagnosing electrical problems without being there. but i wana say its yours starter.

if i were you id order a rebuild kit. its cheaper that a solenoid, and wouldnt hurt to do anyways

SET THE STAGE
02-18-2010, 03:00 PM
truth, i'm sure it could use a rebuild. do you think i'd need a full rebuild or just the brushes, though?

have you ever heard much about the ebay solenoids? you know, those cheap 'heavy duty' ones. i'm debating on one of those or paying the little extra for a used OEM solenoid.

honda300EXtreme
02-18-2010, 03:05 PM
all you really need is the brushes. the rebuild kits come with a few o-rings.

if your in no rush i would rebuild the starter and see if that works. if not then spend the money on the solenoid.

i have no experience with the ebay parts. but with this kinda stuff i like to stick to oem.

SET THE STAGE
02-18-2010, 03:32 PM
i feel the same about sticking with OEM stuff when it comes to electrical components.

thanks for the input, man. i'll give it a shot.

honda300EXtreme
02-18-2010, 05:15 PM
not a problem. let me know how it goes

SET THE STAGE
02-18-2010, 08:58 PM