PDA

View Full Version : Buying a used quad - What to look for?

Newt327
02-09-2010, 06:05 PM
Hey everyone, no doubt i'm a noob here, I plan to be buying my first quad soon and just would like to ask what I shouldbe be looking at when i go to check out one i am interested in? I'm looking at either a Raptor 350 or 400ex. What should i check out to be sure i'm not buying a piece of junk or something that's been abused and may blow up in week?

Thanks!

02-09-2010, 06:20 PM
Unscrew dipstick. Make sure oil reads properly and is clean. (Not all burnt black looking)

Check to see if air filter is properly oiled and clean.

Make sure it starts up nice and easy and doesn't smoke.

Make sure it idles good.

Ride it, make sure it pulls good and doesn't have any sputters/bogs.

Check a-arm bushings where it mounts to the frame for play, make sure they're tight.

Pick up the rear and grab the rear axle. If the bearings are good it won't wobble or move.

02-09-2010, 06:23 PM
Also figured I could throw in,

A lot of times you can tell if it was takin care of by the way it looks. If the plastics are scratched to hell, the frame has nicks and rust spots, and it's dirty when you look at it, most likely they beat the dog dirt out of it.

Quads won't usually be mint.. they're off road vehicles. But you can tell if they cared for it or not.

And between the Raptor 350 and 400ex, the raptor is a good starter bike, but you're much better off with a 400ex. They're equally as reliable, but the 400ex is faster, and a larger/more stable/better handling chassis. And when you get to be a better rider, there's plenty of room for upgrades.

The rappy is a good bike, but slow and very narrow.

bustedknuckle
02-09-2010, 06:32 PM