PDA

View Full Version : Is a 250r Still competitive int the woods?

Dustin_Drews
02-02-2010, 07:21 AM
I raced last year on a 05 yfz it was my fist year but I cringe everytime I think of someing going to pot in my engine! I am fortunate enough not to have any electrical problems with my like some had... I can do all the work myself I repair small engines for a living mainly lawnmowers... I can also get all the major parts at cost I am wps dealer but it is still about 2000k if something goes bang!
I am thinking about building a 250r for the woods but I dont know if I am wasting my time and money in doing so? I am a bigger guy 230 ready to race so I am going to need some motor work done to lug my big butt around... suspension stuff is the same cost?
All the motor work including boring I can do myslef...
I am doing a pro con
250r Pros
Light wieght
No Electrical issues
After market parts are everywhere
Less moving parts
Less complicated ignition system
No Battery
kick start
I can bore the cast Iron cylinder

yfz pros
No issues getting new factory parts
I already have it
Lots of low end torque for the woods
I can get a recluse clutch

Also what year is the best set up for fast nimble sharp turning woods bike? I want to get an 88 or 89 because these 2 have the most enterchangeable motor but they have a longer swinger does that hurt the steering in the woods?
I do the IATVHSS if this helps!
Thanks for your opions
God Bless,
Dustin Drews

86 Quad R
02-02-2010, 08:09 AM
the R can be built to be real competetive for woods racing, even for a larger guy. the formost thing to look into is the suspension(setup for your weight and riding style) and then do the same when setting up the engine. there are soooo many variables to this.
my last build was an 87 that i setup specifically for woods type riding/racing for my youngest whom is 14 and is 6'4" and 225#. it will tote him around very well. :cool:

rockingkfarms
02-02-2010, 09:43 AM