PDA

View Full Version : Welding advice for steering stem.

CJM
02-01-2010, 04:58 PM
Long story short, I totally frigged up my steering stem bracket. I was trying to remove the bearing and it would not budge due to the fact I didnt see a snap ring holding it (very dirty inside), I created a horrible lip inside of the hole where the bearing goes and basically its not easily fixable. I obtained a piece of a frame for the part and managed to dissect it today doing a pretty decent job imho.

I probably need to fill in the one part and I honestly think Ill reinforce it as much as I can to add strength.

My Q is:

1. Im a decent welder, however should this kinda of thing be welded by a professional b/c its a critical part of the frame, must be centered correctly and must be welded very good? As you can see the welds are quite thick and robust as well.

2. You think I should cut the other piece off short, not trying to save it and simply grind down everything else as best as possible. I am looking to keep the frame tubes intact as much as possible.http://i46.tinypic.com/2a9el5g.jpg

http://i49.tinypic.com/8vomip.jpg

http://i49.tinypic.com/2eulcfr.jpg
What I cut off the other frame, I think I did an ok job-it wasnt easy!

Area to fill
http://i46.tinypic.com/9rm5xe.jpg

Edit-
I really only feel there are 2 options:
1. Cut out the one on the bike as best as possible, leaving a small lip for the other one to sit on as close as I can.

2. Cut it totally out and try to make it work.

Miami_Vice454
02-01-2010, 06:12 PM
cut out the old one and weld the new one into place. do it yourself. i repaired the whole side of my frame and it has absolutely NO signs of anything and ive done some of the hardest riding on it yet.

CJM
02-01-2010, 06:14 PM
Originally posted by Miami_Vice454
cut out the old one and weld the new one into place. do it yourself. i repaired the whole side of my frame and it has absolutely NO signs of anything and ive done some of the hardest riding on it yet.