View Full Version : best shocks!?

Hondaboy93
01-03-2010, 03:09 PM
im back again asking about some shocks
i need some opinions about what shocks are the "best" for mx racing
pep,fox,elka,gt thunder etc, i wanna hear your opinions
thanks

01-04-2010, 02:16 AM
Well from what I've read Motowoz seems to be taking the cake... I have no personal experience with them yet... :D I'm stuck deciding between Fox and Motowoz.

XBLASTERRACERX
01-04-2010, 05:52 PM
For me I think custom axis is the best they are always coming out with new stuff like the plush ride system and holeshot device.

01-04-2010, 11:38 PM
Originally posted by XBLASTERRACERX
For me I think custom axis is the best they are always coming out with new stuff like the plush ride system and holeshot device.

I've riden the Axis and I must I'm not impressed... Fox fronts are better IMO.

Colby@C&DRacing
01-05-2010, 08:30 AM
These are always like ford vs chevy. Find a shock that is made of quality materials and if they are setup correctly you will be happy. Setup is the key to suspension performance. There are only a few inferior shock designs but even they can be made to work pretty well. Of course this is just my opinion :)

400exrider707
01-05-2010, 12:06 PM
Originally posted by Colby@C&DRacing
Setup is the key to suspension performance.

Exactly.

The builder of the shock is far more important than the name on the outside of the shock.

Obviously starting with a quality shock is important too, but like Colby said, you can make almost any of them work very well.

PEP/AXIS/FOX... all good shocks.

For OEM rebuilds, C&D, GT Thunder, Santo Derisi, all good ones. (some of these have better customer service than others though... do some searching.)

jimmyjames1700
01-06-2010, 02:13 PM
Don't forget about Clark Jones at Noleen J6. Very nice aftermarket shocks and one of the best at rebuilding stockers.

Hondaboy93
01-06-2010, 06:33 PM