PDA

View Full Version : anyone have any concerns or experience with this?

croom9
01-02-2010, 02:23 PM
Im about to buy this 2000 400ex from a guy on craigslist for a good price, but im kind of worried that this is going to be a headache machine.... anyone have any insight on the subject(is the 426 hard on the rest of the engine or something that this thing is broken down...and did the stage 3 cam have something to do with destroying the piston and rings?).... here it his ad i copy and pasted it from craigslist.... basically i have no experience with big bore kits and have no idea what to look out for

i have a 400 ex with a 426 big bore kit ,it has a lonestar stearing steam,extra back tires and rims and extra shocks,full yoshimura pipe new valves,i have a brand new gasket kit for it it has a stage 3 hot cam,jetted carb it needs the piston and rings cuz i lost my job and ran out of money the get the piston and rings for it i thank you for looking

johnnynonails
01-02-2010, 03:30 PM
is it local to you, if so go see it,and check the guy out.
if you want to buy it blind your asking for trouble imo.

croom9
01-02-2010, 03:33 PM
oh i definetly planned on checkin iit out..... i just dont know anything about the big bore kits and what to look for what their flaws are or what kind of havoc they can wreak on the rest of the motor

rocky_mtn_honda
01-02-2010, 05:41 PM