PDA

View Full Version : New 250R Owner

86DUNCAN250R
01-01-2010, 05:39 AM
Hi guys and girls, I'm new to this site. I have an 05' Predator 500 and this past august of 09' I was able to pick up the quad I've been melting to get for the past 6 years. My 86' TRX 250R... I found this baby for a sweet $800.00... It had been sitting in a barn for about 8 maybe 9 years I'm guessing by the way the guy talked... I'm lucky enough to know the two owners its been through.... the original owner used to race a 250r and his sponsors bought him a 2nd one in 86'(the one i just bought((never raced)), he owned it for about 2 years before getting in a bad accident on his other 250r and giving up the sport... he then sold it to the guy who i bought it from... the original owner put a few doodads on it including aaen head pipe with an answer2 silencer, oneil bars, 909 grips, Nacs case saver, a 37T sidewinder rear sprocket, a k&n filter, and i believe the carb has had a bit of tuning up though its an ftermarket equivelent to stock size and a twist throttle has been added... i was trying to buy it from the guy i worked with for about 5-6 years failing in every attempt... he was one of those guys that couldn't make up his mind to sell it or not...I began to think i'd never find one in the right shape i wanted until august 09' i hadn't seen him in 2 years and i happened to run into him one day and he asked if i was still interested in buying it... at that point I gave him a curious grin wondering if I was onto another pointless conversation that was goin to steer me into an empty space in the garage with yet still that dream of ever owning one yet unfullfilled...I then listened to him tell his thoughts that he had to surrender to selling it because he has a bum hip and can't take the bouncing around on an atv anymore even if he did fix it to ride again... he asked me what I'd pay for it and I said whats it worth to you? he said he'd be happy if he could get $600.00 for it... I then said wher