PDA

View Full Version : Hour Meter

Scott Quintrell
12-18-2009, 10:36 PM
As I'm new to the Can Am DS 450 bike, I would like to fit a hour meter. Im little confused to which spark plug to fit it too. Can anyone tell me how the twin spark plug works.

This is a great Forum as I'm learning Heaps from this site, As I'm living in a quite remote area of Australia.

TNT
12-19-2009, 06:26 PM
We've never had much luck with them, but I beleive both coils fire the plugs w/the same step-up coil voltage at the same time so either should do it. I think all they do is pick up a frequency pulse from the plug wire that translates to a hour output from a time line in the board program, same time line(clock) the frequency of the coil sends to the plug.....

Since you like to learn theres a little more than you needed to know. :D

Scott Quintrell
12-19-2009, 09:10 PM
Thanks TNT, I have been reading most of your replys and who needs a Dealership when we have you on this forum. you must have alot Knowledge on these Can-am's

The only problem I had is the bolts on the rear sprocket kept coming loose and a coolant leak on the motor (1/4" hose ) which I had to change to a better clamp.

I have just done the pink wire, Air Box Lid, and the S/A on the exhaust. You really know the difference. I'm waiting for my Manual and they reckon I won't receive it to the end of February, thats why I want to put a hour meter on it so don't go over the ten hours for the Valve clearances and oil changes as I'm too far away from the Dealership (1500 Miles away)

TNT
12-20-2009, 02:17 PM