PDA

View Full Version : 2 stroke jetting and mix ratio questions

03warriorrider
11-26-2009, 07:14 PM
I just rebuilt a 89 rm125 and I'm having a difficult time getting it jetted. I put in a new wiseco pro light piston and ring(stock bore size), a full fmf pipe, stock replacement boyesen reeds, and twin air filter. It also has no air box lid, not sure if it ever did as when I bought it was a mess, and the exhaust ports have been ported. So far I have it pretty close, it still has a sputter like its rich after about 3/4 throttle. Stock jetting is 55 pilot, 330 main and 3rd clip on the needle. Right now I'm 60 pilot, 310 main, and 4th clip. I'm thinking I still need to adjust the main to maybe a 300? It just seems weird to me that I'm so far from stock jetting and this thing is still stock bore size, again I'm a newb when it comes to jetting so I could be wrong.

For oil I'm running castor 927. One of my questions is what should I be mixing it at?....right now I'm mixing 20:1 because that's what my manual is saying to mix but the oil says between 20:1 and 60:1.

Thanks for any help and I apologize for anything that my scream newb but this is my first 2 stroke and first time jetting something :)

IcutMetl
11-26-2009, 07:44 PM
It seems the general consensus for mix ratio on a small 125 is 32:1 or 40:1. Start the jetting right where it ran best last, or with the needle in the middle notch; I've found that on my 250R, the needle position has the biggest effect on jetting over all the other circuits, and the main only really comes into play around 3/4+ throttle. Raise the clip to lean it out, and opposite to richen. Go to www.carbparts.com and search around for their Keihin jetting chart- it was helpful to me; it sounds like you have a Mikuni, but should be the same concept. Also Duncan Racing's website has some very helpful pointers as well.

Good luck!

mxpimp2000
11-26-2009, 10:02 PM