PDA

View Full Version : Engine Noise at idle

coastie720
11-15-2009, 01:17 AM
Hello gents, newb here :D Im new to the 400ex, and was wondering if someone could explain this noise. At warm idle, the engine sounds like there is a pressure relief valve somewhere in there. Every couple seconds you will hear a slight 'blow by" noise. I also get it when im compression braking down a trail. Other than that it runs like a top. Thanks in advance for any help.

Chris

tri5ron
11-15-2009, 02:25 AM
Chris,
Welcome to the forum, this does not sound normal.

At warm idle, you say this happens "every couple of seconds".
so am I to understand, that it does not make this sound at each compression stroke, at Idle,.....

But it DOES happen at each compression stroke while "engine braking" down a hill?

do you see any evidence of oil leaking around the head, or base of the cylinder?
How about the inside of the airbox, do you see any excessive oil in it?

Can you hold your hand near the cylinder at idle, and feel this blowby at the same time you hear it?

It might help some of the members here to help you out, if you tell us a little more about your bike.
Year, condition, previous maintaince routines, previous useage, any engine modifications, etc.

coastie720
11-15-2009, 07:15 PM
Thanks for the quick reply! Its a 2003 400EX, Stock except for exhaust. I bought it used in good condition, the guy said he bought it for his wife (older couple) so I believe him :D .

Today, I checked the head and cylinder areas and no oil or anything. The only work I have done is an oil change with Mobil1 4T, and an EMGO filter. I also changed the spark plug at the same time. The noise is similar to (dont laugh) when you eat something sour, and you make that noise with ur tongue on the roof of your mouth. I know that explanation of the sound is gay, but thats all i could do. And it only happens when coming to a stop from high speed or compression braking. Thanks again for any help

tri5ron