PDA

View Full Version : Ride height Question...

TH1RT3EN
11-10-2009, 08:27 AM
Ok, Newbie here with a newbie question...

I currently ride a 09 KFX450R loaded with Pro Armor goodies. Currently running stock tires (soon to change) but i have questions about it.

I ride trails mainly and some dunes. My issue is i get hung up in more places than most mainly due to ride height. I am looking for the easiest and best way to increase my ride height. If i go up a to a 22" tire in the rear (20" is stock) and 23" front tire (21" stock) would this be the easiest way to get a few inches? I am a heavier rider (260lbs) so i know i have to adjust the preload settings on the shocks, but i will do that when i get more information so i dont do anythign wrong.

Is there anything else that i can do to increase my ride height a little? Any sudgestions?

Thanks in advance for any input

Patrick

JParisi48
11-10-2009, 01:07 PM
if you get bigger tires, it would help, but get a smaller front sprocket, 13t so you wont lug in the trails with bigger tires

BEARAZZ
11-10-2009, 06:51 PM
Is your frame hitting or your rear end?? If it is the rear i would suggest the GT Thunder sprocket guard and rotor guard. I would prob not go with tires that big due to alot of body roll and pushing in the corners with the sidewalls flexing

TH1RT3EN
11-11-2009, 09:19 AM
The main thing i have hitting is the swing arm skid plate, Alot of my riding buddys are on 400EX's and they dont weigh as much as i do either. Granted they have a bit more experience than i do, but i am just really tired of getting hung up 2 or 3 times per adventure and they do not have any issues.

The tires i am looking at are 6-ply, would that help more than the 4-ply versions?

Thanks
Patrick

And i will do some research on the sprocket guard and rotor guard thanks for the heads up, And i have looked into the sprocket change as well but unsure how big of a change it will be when done...

BEARAZZ
11-11-2009, 09:24 AM