PDA

View Full Version : Considering a Polaris Sportsman...........

Dr. Righteous
11-05-2009, 04:47 PM
Newbie here. And really new to ATVs in general. I had some time riding the first gen Honda 250 4wheelers back in the 80s when I was a kid, but that was it.

I'm an Jeep/Truck offroad guy and avowed never to go over to the "dark side" and become a ATV rider. I stayed resolute but my buddies abandoned me.
All the guys I use to wheel with have since quit all together or have gone to wheeling ATVs. Why? The answer was it makes wheeling FUN and not nerve racking.
I can't argue that point. If you wheel your truck or Jeep on challenging trails, breaking it is always an issue to worry about.

So I started browsing the ATV for sale adds and finding that now seems to be a great time to buy.
From the reading of reviews I have done, I have settled on a Polaris Sportsman as the ATV for me.
500 or a 800 would suit me since I will be taking my boy with me on wheeling trips and will probably get him his own ATV when he gets older.
The Sportsman 800 is appealing to me one, because I'm a big guy, and 2 because it has a 1500 lbs tow capacity. That would be really handy pulling a small trailer around the farm.
But still the 500 really should be more than enough power.

So lay it on me. What do you guys think. About Polaris in general?
I'm not interested in racing, but trail riding an utility.

troybilt
11-05-2009, 05:29 PM