PDA

View Full Version : 400EX Problems...Newbie questions

OverTheEdgeINC
11-04-2009, 11:33 PM
Okay. First off I went and traded my 99 YZ400 for a 2001 Honda 440EX. The guy told me the head gasket is junk. When I start it it just keeps turning over and shooting oil out between the head and engine case.

He said he forgot to torque the bolts so I tried to torque the bolts at 17lbs like he told me. So I did, The 1 will not tighten at all. Its the one at the rear of the head behind the rear 2 springs in the middle of them. I was trying to tighten that and noticed it won't tighten at all and now I am sitting here a total newb and un sure what to do.

Do I just find a stock head and put that back on? Do I look for a complete motor? I have a feeling the one on it is stripped. I traded for the quad hoping the headgasket wouldn't be a big problem. Anyways, Do you expirienced riders have any ideas on what I can do?

I have the stock head and piston here..

Thanks!

redrock_tj
11-04-2009, 11:50 PM
is it leaking between the cylinder head and cylinder? or the cylinder and the engine case?
head comes off the top of the cylinder
and I just posted the Torque specs
hope this helps

OverTheEdgeINC
11-05-2009, 12:29 AM
Heres a picture I just went and took to be more specific.

http://i373.photobucket.com/albums/oo176/BoneStockNeon/Photo-0108.jpg

redrock_tj
11-05-2009, 12:38 AM
that would be between the cylinder head and the cylinder..
and if they won't tighten up the head studs have prob... pulled out. A machine shop is the answer.....those bolts should be more than 18 ftlbs......33

tri5ron
11-05-2009, 12:40 AM
your saying it is a 440.
I'm assuming it's also a 11.5:1 or higher compression.
if that is the case, then in all probability, your studs are pulled out of the case, and you will need to have HD studs installed with Roll Form threads.
This is a common problem/failure on 400ex's, with high compression pistons.