PDA

View Full Version : 300ex cam chain slap?

Hoosierd
10-24-2009, 08:10 PM
Hi all,

I tried to dearch this subject for the last half hour and I am giving up in hopes some of you "Experts" can help.

I just purchased a built 400 ex for myself and now my son wants a quad too. I looked at a 300ex tonight and the owner claimed the rattle coming from the right side of motor is a cam chain noise and "could be fixed simply by replacing the cam chain guides?"

OK, total noob to 4 stokes! Raced a '89 250R back when and now trying the 4 strokers.

Is this simple? How? Or possible to check before buying? Not real comfortable if it needs engine work right out of the gate. Also any idea on approximate costs involved?

Thanks everyone in advance!

honda300EXtreme
10-24-2009, 08:47 PM
it sounds to me like the guy might be trying to make a sale.

if its a loud rattle at idle its almost certin that there is too much slack in the cam chain but there could be several causes,

odds are either:

the cam chain is stretched and needs replaced
or the cam chain tensioner has failed and is not fully locking out

it has been awhile since i have had to deal with quad parts but if i recall

the tensioner runs about 60 - 75$ depending where you get it
and a cam chain i believe is in the 40 range,

if your not comfortable putting money into from the start shop around, 300's are a dime a dozen any more these days

unless hes giving you a good deal. either way its not a very complicated fix, a service manual and a little time and youll be fine

Hoosierd
10-24-2009, 09:29 PM
Actually you can hear it best when at idle. It did not really seem to get worse under a load, but yet loud exhaust in a barn = woah! The big black plug on the right upper side, is that an inspection plug/hole?